Anne Enright’s The Green Road shortlisted for the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2016

Irish Laureate and Booker Prize-winner Anne Enright’s The Green Road  has been shortlisted for the Bailey's Women's Prize for Fiction 2016.

The Sunday Times bestseller has already sold over 100,000 copies across all formats and reached No.1 in Ireland.

Praise for The Green Road includes:

‘Confirms her as one of the most significant writers of her generation….

A master. She has certainly produced a masterly work’ Sunday Times

‘One of our greatest living novelists’ The Times

‘Brilliant, devastating, radical’ Guardian

The Green Road is currently also shortlisted for the Kerry Group Irish Novel Award, the Bookseller Book of the Year Award and the Independent Booksellers Book Week Award.

The Green Road was also the winner of the 2015 Irish Novel of the Year, shortlisted for the 2015 Costa Novel Award and longlisted for the 2015 Man Booker Prize.

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction is open to any woman writing in English and the prize is worth £30,000. Previous winner include Ali Smith, Eimear McBride, A.M. Homes, Marilynne Robinson and Rose Tremain.

This year’s award is chaired by Margaret Mountford and her fellow judges are Naga Munchetty, Laurie Penny, Elif Shafak and Tracey Thorn.

Other shortlisted titles are:

  • Cynthia Bond – Ruby (Two Roads)
  • Lisa McInerney – The Glorious Heresies (John Murray)
  • Elizabeth McKenzie – The Portable Veblen (Fourth Estate)
  • Hannah Rothschild – The Improbability of Love ( Bloomsbury)
  • Hanya Yanagihara – A Little Life (Picador)


The winner will be announced on 8th June 2016 at an awards ceremony at the Royal Festival Hall.

More about the shortlist and the Baileys prize here:


Press Enquiries

For more information on this story please get in touch via our media contacts