5 for Penguin Random House on the Theakston’s longlist

The longlist for the £3,000 Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year has been announced.

The longlisted titles will feature in a six-week campaign across all 300 WH Smith stores and 80 library services, representing a total of 1,645 library branches. A shortlist of six will be further announced on 31st May, followed by a seven-week promotion in libraries and WH Smiths stores.

The overall winner will be decided by the panel of judges, alongside a public vote, open from 1st – 15th July, with the winner to be announced at an award ceremony hosted by broadcaster Mark Lawson on 21st July, the opening night of the 14th Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate.

Gemma Rowland, literature festivals manager at Harrogate International Festivals, said: “The list demonstrates that even the giants of the genre are constantly kept on their toes, with debut voices as serious contenders. Last year’s winner was a debut from Sarah Hilary. It really shows whoever wins this year will know they’ve been pitted against the biggest talent at work today.”


Our longlisted titles are as below:

Black Eyed Susans, Julia Heaberlin (Michael Joseph)

Disclaimer, Renée Knight (Black Swan)

Tell No Tales, Eva Dolan (Harvill Secker)

The Final Silence, Stuart Neville (Harvill Secker)

In a Dark, Dark Wood, Ruth Ware (Harvill Secker)


Press Enquiries

For more information on this story please get in touch via our media contacts