Penguin Random House Design Award shortlist announced

Penguin Random House UK today announced the shortlist for its tenth Design Award which received a record-breaking 1,600 entries from more than 120 UK and international colleges and universities.  

2016 marks the ten year anniversary of the award which gives the opportunity for students on an Art or Design (HND or degree) course to engage in design for publishing during their studies and to experience real jacket-design briefs first-hand.

The Award is comprised of three categories; the winner for each receives a work placement within the Penguin Random House design studios as well as £1,000 in prize money.

The 2016 categories are: Adult Fiction Cover Award A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess; Adult Non-Fiction Cover Award How to Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran; Children’s Cover Award Emil and the Detectives by Erich Kästner.

Adult Fiction Cover Award – shortlisted entrants: 
Emily Bell – University of Northampton
Andrew Bremmler – University of Northampton
Lewis Copland – Gray’s School of Art
Zac Crook – University of Central Lancashire
Thongtipaya Pinitpouvadol – Kingston University
Callum Richards – Cardiff Metropolitan University
Jack Rowbottom – Cardiff Metropolitan University
Rohit Sharma – London College of Communication
Anja Sušanj – Camberwell College of Arts, UAL

Adult Non-Fiction Cover Award – shortlisted entrants:
Céline Adam – University of South Wales
Chloe Blackwell – Edinburgh Napier University
Emma Bradley – University Campus Suffolk
Katerina Horka – Prague College
Gizem Kaymanli – University of Northampton
Adam McCabe – Falmouth University
Melissa Morris – Leeds College of Art
Kasia Serafin – Gray’s School of Art
Zachary Wieland – University of Texas
Lisa J. Wilson – University of Wolverhampton

Children’s Cover Award – shortlisted entrants:
George Eccles – University of Gloucestershire
Daria Grezel – Birmingham City University
Kirstie Hamilton – Nottingham Trent University
Ailsa Johnson – University of Edinburgh
Andrea Karan – Gray’s School of Art
Shana Lohrey – London College of Communication
Danielle Massam – Stockport College
Maddy Mould – University of Cumbria, Institute of the Arts
Rachel Rudston – University Campus Suffolk
Emma Tully – Liverpool John Moores University

The winners will be announced on Wednesday 22nd June on the Design Award website.


Press Enquiries

For more information on this story please get in touch via our media contacts