Sarah Howe wins the Sunday Times/PFD Young Writer of the Year 2015

Sarah Howe



Announced at a ceremony on Friday at the London Library, the judges were unanimous in awarding Sarah the prize, describing Loop of Jade as “a work of astonishing originality, depth and scope”.

The other shortlisted titles were: Sunjeev Sahota’s Booker-shortlisted novel The Year of the Runaways, Ben Fergusson’s Betty Trask award-winning historical novel The Spring of Kasper Meier, and Sara Taylor’s Baileys-nominated The Shore.

The judges were Andrew Holgate, Sunday Times Literary Editor, Sarah Waters and Peter Kemp, the Sunday Times Chief Fiction Reviewer. Previous winners of the prize include Zadie Smith, Robert Macfarlane and Ross Raisin.

Read more about it here:


The Bookseller:

Sarah was interviewed on the BBC Radio 4 Today programme: (2h50min)

And the Sunday Times ran both a poem and an interview with Sarah this weekend.

Sarah said that “poetry seems to be having a bit of a moment in the national consciousness” – long may this continue!


Press Enquiries

For more information on this story please get in touch via our media contacts