The Orwell Prize for Books 2016: six books from Penguin Random House UK on the longlist

The Orwell Prize is Britain’s most prestigious prize for political writing. It is awarded each year for the book which come closest to George Orwell’s ambition to ‘make political writing into an art’. 

The shortlist will be announced on 21st April.

The longlist:

  • Andy Beckett, Promised you a Miracle: UK80 – 82 (Allen Lane)
  • Jason Burke, The New Threat from Islamic Militancy (Bodley Head)
  • Thomas Harding, The House by the Lake (William Heinemann)
  • Sudhir Hazareesingh, How the French Think (Allen Lane)
  • Steve Hilton, More Human (WH Allen)
  • Samar Yazbek, The Crossing (Rider)
  • John Kay, Other People’s Money (Profile Books)
  • Ferdinand Mount, The Tears of the Rajas (Simon and Schuster)
  • Arkady Ostrovsky, The Invention of Russia (Atlantic Books)
  • Emma Sky, The Unravelling (Atlantic Books)
  • Anne-Marie Slaughter, Unfinished Business (Oneworld Publications)
  • Wendell Steavenson, Circling the Square (Granta Books)
  • Gillian Tett, The Silo Effect (Little, Brown)

Press Enquiries

For more information on this story please get in touch via our media contacts