Six Penguin Random House titles nominated for Costa Book Awards

The shortlist for the 2016 Costa Book Awards was announced yesterday on BBC Radio 4's Front Row programme, with six Penguin Random House titles included. These are:


Rose Tremain - The Gustav Sonata (Vintage)

First Novel

Kit De Waal - My Name Is Leon (Penguin General)


John Guy - Elizabeth: The Forgotten Years (Penguin General)
Hisham Matar - The Return (Penguin General)
Keggie Carew - Dadland (Vintage)


Alice Oswald - Falling Awake (Vintage)

The Costa Book Awards honour some of the most outstanding books of the year written by authors based in the UK and Ireland. There are five categories – First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book – with one of the five winners chosen as the overall Costa Book of the Year at an awards ceremony in London every January.

Launched in 1971 as the Whitbread Literary Awards, they became the Whitbread Book Awards in 1985, with Costa taking over in 2006.

Press Enquiries

For more information on this story please get in touch via our media contacts