3 Penguin Random House titles on the Man Booker Prize 2016 shortlist

#ManBooker 2016 | #FinestFiction

The shortlist for the Man Booker Prize 2016 has been announced this morning, with three Penguin Random House titles receiving nominations, including two for Jonathan Cape. These are:

Deborah Levy - Hot Milk (Hamish Hamilton)

Ottessa Moshfegh - Eileen (Jonathan Cape)

David Szalay - All That Man Is (Jonathan Cape)

Of all six writers, Hamish Hamilton's Deborah Levy is the only one who has been previously shortlisted, for Swimming Home in 2012. Hot Milk is the story of a mother and daughter, trying to find a cure for a mysterious form of paralysis in a small Spanish fishing village. It examines female rage and sexuality, as well as the strange and monstrous nature of motherhood.

American Ottessa Moshfegh is the only debut author on the list, and her nomination follows up from Eileen winning the PEN/Hemingway Award for debut fiction and being shortlisted for the National Book Critics Circle Award. It follows Eileen Dunlop, a young woman caught between looking after an alcoholic father and a day job working in a boy's prison, who's world is changed forever with the appearance of a beautiful, charismatic new prison counsellor.

David Szalay is nominated for his fourth novel, after being named as one of Granta's Best Young British Novelists in 2013. All That Man Is traces the stories of nine different men, from the suburbs of Prague, to a squalid Cypriot hotel, to a yacht off the coast of Montenegro, to a Belgian motorway. Each of them are at different stages of their lives, each away from home and each of them are striving to understand just what it means to be alive.

The Prize

First awarded in 1969, the Man Booker Prize is seen as the leading prize for literary fiction written in English, and this is the third year that the prize has been open to writers of any nationality, writing in English and published in the UK. Previously the prize was only open to authors from the UK & Commonwealth, Republic of Ireland and Zimbabwe. Each of the shortlisted authors receives £2,500 and the winner will receive a further £50,000.

The shortlist in full is:

Paul Beatty (US) - The Sellout (Oneworld)
Deborah Levy (UK) - Hot Milk (Hamish Hamilton)
Graeme Macrae Burnet (UK) - His Bloody Project (Contraband)
Ottessa Moshfegh (US) - Eileen (Jonathan Cape)
David Szalay (Canada/UK) - All That Man Is (Jonathan Cape)
Madeleine Thien (Canada) - Do Not Say We Have Nothing (Granta Books)

Penguin Random House authors J.M Coetzee (The Schooldays of Jesus), A.L Kennedy (Serious Sweet) and Elizabeth Strout (My Name Is Lucy Barton) all made the longlist, but were not included in the shortlist.

The Winner

Previous winners have included Salman Rushdie, Iris Murdoch and Ian McEwan. The 2016 winner will be announced on Tuesday 25 October at London's Guildhall and will be broadcasted by the BBC. Until then, there will be a number of public events featuring the shortlisted authors, including two at the Cheltenham Literature Festival on Saturday 15 October and the traditional Man Booker Prize Readings at the Southbank Centre on the 24 October.

Press Enquiries

For more information on this story please get in touch via our media contacts