Longlist announced for the 2016 Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction


3 Penguin Random House titles have made the longlist for the 2016 Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction. Open to entries from authors of any nationality and rewarding the best non-fiction in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts, the prize was formerly known as The Samuel Johnson Prize from 1999 to 2015.

Our 3 nominees are:

Stephanie Flanders, Chair of the Judges, commented, “Shortly after committing to judge this award I found I had an overwhelming – and deeply unhelpful – urge to read fiction. But each of these ten very different books takes you on a journey that is as engrossing and imaginative as any novel. They aim high, and deliver. I am not looking forward to having to choose between them.”

The longlist has been chosen by a panel chaired by former BBC Economics Editor, Stephanie Flanders, together with Philip Ball, science writer and author; Jonathan Derbyshire, executive comment editor of the Financial Times; Dr Sophie Ratcliffe, scholar, writer and literary critic and Rohan Silva, co-founder of the social enterprise, Second Home.

The shortlist will be announced on Monday 17 October. The winner of the 2016 prize will be announced on Tuesday 15 November, at a dinner supported by a donation from the Blavatnik Family Foundation.

Press Enquiries

For more information on this story please get in touch via our media contacts