William Heinemann logo

William Heinemann

About William Heinemann

William Heinemann is one of the oldest literary imprints still publishing today. Founded in 1890, the imprint boasts both a rich literary heritage and a forward-thinking, cutting-edge list of contemporary fiction and non-fiction.

Historically we have published Harper Lee (the bestselling novelist of 2015 with Go Set A Watchman), Henry James, Joseph Conrad, Dostoevsky, Tolstoy, Anthony Burgess, Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Angela Carter, Graham Greene, John Steinbeck and Nabokov to name just a few.

Today William Heinemann publishes acclaimed fiction from both sides of the Atlantic – Douglas Coupland, Nicola Barker (winner of the Impac Prize and the Goldsmiths Prize), James Ellroy, Nick Harkaway, John Niven, Paul Harding (winner of the Pulitzer Prize), Jenni Fagan (a Granta Best Young British Novelist), Lauren Groff (a Granta Best Young American Novelist), Richard Powers, Tom Hanks, Jonathan Lee, Sathnam Sanghera – and in translation – Michel Houellebecq (winner of the Prix Goncourt) – as well as some of the best upmarket crime and thriller writers, including Thomas Harris, Donna Leon, Kathy Reichs and John Harvey.

Always looking forward, Heinemann prides itself upon its dedication to new writing. Recent debut writers include Sara Baume (winner of the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize and shortlisted for both the Costa First Novel Award and The Goldsmiths Prize) and Sara Taylor (shortlisted for both the Guardian First Book Award and the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award).

Our non-fiction is an eclectic mix that includes history, current affairs, reportage, popular culture, memoir, popular science and narrative non-fiction from authors such as Tony Judt, Laurence Scott (shortlisted for the Samuel Johnson Prize), Liaquat Ahamed (winner of the Pulitzer Prize), Charles Duhigg, Jamie Bartlett, and Thomas Harding (shortlisted for Costa Biography Award).