Penguin General

Viking logo

We publish books that combine brilliant writing with popular appeal, both fiction and non-fiction.


More about Viking

We publish fiction and non-fiction: books that combine brilliant writing with popular appeal, books that make headlines and books that will win prizes. We believe in publishing with conviction, innovation and passion, and we’re all dedicated to ensuring each of our books is a critical and commercial success.

We publish current affairs, history, biography, memoir, economics, science, narrative non-fiction, music, art and sport.

Meet our Editors

Photo of Venetia Butterfield Publishing Director of Viking

Venetia Butterfield

Publishing Director

I publish literary fiction, popular literary fiction, as well as non-fiction; biography, narrative history, neuroscience, and memoir for Viking. I also buy books for Penguin Life. My authors include Ben Macintyre, Claire Harman, Daniel Levitin, Elif Shafak, Emma Healey, Nick Hornby, Salley Vickers and William Gibson.

Photo of Daniel Crewe, Publisher at Viking

Daniel Crewe


I mainly publish in the areas of modern history, economics, science and philosophy. Authors I’m working with at the moment include Antony Beevor, Jonathan Dimbleby, A. C. Grayling, Simon Jenkins, Laurence Rees, Charles Spence and Linda Yueh and I love working with authors from the initial idea to thinking about their next book.                    

Photo of Jack Ramm Commissioning Editor at Viking

Jack Ramm

Commissioning Editor

I commission non-fiction in areas including the sciences, the arts, history, politics and sport. I also publish narrative non-fiction.

Photo of Katy Loftus Commissioning Editor at Viking

Katy Loftus

Editorial Director

I commission popular literary or book-club fiction, literary suspense and upmarket crime and women’s fiction for Viking.

Photo of Mary Mount Publisher at Viking

Mary Mount


I publish literary fiction and narrative non-fiction. At Viking, the authors I work with include John le Carré, Colm Tóibín, Nina Stibbe, Joshua Ferris, Naomi Alderman, John Banville and Hisham Matar.

Meet our Authors

Viking publishes the widest possible range of literary fiction and non-fiction. Our fiction list includes John le Carré, Nick Hornby, Colm Tóibín, Elif Shafak, William Trevor, Nina Stibbe, Jonathan Coe and Joshua Ferris. In non-fiction, the range covers current affairs, history, biography, memoir, narrative non-fiction, science, music and sport. Our authors include Antony Beevor, Clare Balding, Susan Cain, Doris Kearns Goodwin, Daniel Levitin, Ben Macintyre, Laurence Rees, Claire Tomalin and Jonathan Dimbleby.

Photo of Viking author John le Carré


John le Carré was born in 1931. His third novel, The Spy Who Came in from the Cold, secured him a worldwide reputation, which was consolidated by the acclaim for his trilogy Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, The Honourable Schoolboy and Smiley’s People. His recent novels include A Most Wanted Man, Our Kind of Traitor and A Delicate Truth.

Photo of Viking author Nick Hornby


Nick Hornby is the author of six bestselling novels (High Fidelity, About a Boy, How To Be Good, A Long Way Down, Juliet, Naked and Funny Girl) and four works of acclaimed non-fiction: Fever Pitch, 31 Songs, The Complete Polysyllabic Spree and Stuff I’ve Been Reading. His most recent novel is Funny Girl


Photo of Viking author Emma Healey

EMMA HEALEY                             

Emma Healey completed an MA in Creative Writing at UEA in 2010. Elizabeth is Missing is her first novel; it won the Costa First Novel Award 2014 and was shortlisted for several other awards including the Desmond Elliott Prize and the National Book Awards Popular Fiction Book of the Year. Emma Healey was also shortlisted as an NBA New Writer of the Year.


Photo of Viking author Colm Tóibín


Colm Tóibín was born in Enniscorthy in 1955. He is the author of eight novels, including The Blackwater Lightship, The Master and The Testament of Mary, all three of which were nominated for the Booker Prize, Brooklyn - which won the Costa Novel Award - and Nora Webster - which was nominated for the Costa Novel Award and the Folio Prize.

Photo of Viking author Antony Beevor


Antony Beevor is the renowned author of Stalingrad, which won the Samuel Johnson Prize, the Wolfson Prize for History and the Hawthornden Prize for Literature, and Berlin, which received the first Longman-History Today Trustees’ Award. His books have appeared in 30 foreign editions and sold over 6 million copies. His most recent book is Ardennes 1944: Hitler’s Last Gamble.