Black Swan logo


A brief history of Black Swan

Launched in 1985, Black Swan is a paperback imprint synonymous with brilliantly written storytelling and brand-name non-fiction. It is a home for writers as diverse as Kate Atkinson, John Boyne, Bill Bryson, Richard Dawkins, Ben Elton, Joanne Harris, John Irving, and Sophie Kinsella. Recent successes include Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief, Curtis Sittenfeld’s American Wife, S.J. Watson's Before I Go To Sleep, Terry Hayes’s I am Pilgrim, Jo Baker’s Longbourn and Rachel Joyce’s The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.